Science World Friends and Patrons

Over the years, Science World has benefited from the dedication and energy of key individuals who have played a significant role in ensuring our success. These individuals have been honoured by being named a Friend or Patron of Science World.

Friends of Science World

To be named a Friend of Science World is an honour bestowed on an individual who personifies the goal and aspirations of the Science World Society. The recipient is characterized by a love of science, a dedication to community service and a commitment to the evolution of British Columbia as an international centre of science and technology. Either through their activities on behalf of the Society and/or by the example they provide by their life’s achievements, the Friend has contributed significantly to the development of a science culture in our province. Our Friends are:

Trudi Coblenz2017
Gordon Campbell2014
Dr Ken Spencer2010
Stan Hagen2009
Dr John Pitts2006
Dr Michael Smith1994
Haig de B. Farris1992
Barbara Brink1991
Dr Cecil H. Green1990


Patrons of Science World

To be named a Patron of Science World is an honour bestowed by the members of the Science World Society. These volunteers or former employees have contributed in a significant way to the development of the Society. Science World thrives because it receives the collective energy, wisdom, time, financial resources and goodwill from leaders in the community we serve. Science World gratefully acknowledges the following leaders:

Bruce McLeod2017Peter Lige1999
John Cairns2017Fei Wong1999
Dr Robin Louis2015George Battye1998
Dr Lindsay Machan2015Dr Sid Katz1998
Peter J O'Callaghan2015Kevin O'Neill1998
Jim Pickles2015Anthony Barke1997
Rich Simons2015Brian Canfield1997
Dr Bruce Beairsto2014Robert Carlisle1997
Paul Geyer2014Robert A Dickinson1997
Donna O'Neill2012Danny Gaw1997
Dr Andrew Wright2012Dr Colin Jones1997
Bruce Drake2011Dr Maria Klawe1997
Stewart Ladyman2011Dr Elmer Froese1996
Morgan Sturdy2011Nairn (Buz) Knott1996
Peggie Terry2011Ron Woznow1996
Ross Mitchell2010Michael Francis1995
Garry Rasmussen2010David Ingram1995
Trudi Coblenz2009Lucille Pacey1995
Caroline Jellinck2009Larry Bell1993
Michael Lee2009John Fraser1993
Munro MacKenzie2009Jane Hungerford1993
John Murphy2009Alex Klopfer1993
Dr Ken Spencer2009Nurjehan Mawani1993
Jeff Devins2008Rudolph North1993
Bob Weins2008Lynn Patterson1993
Eileen Stewart2007Don Risk1993
Bill Bullis2006Ron Stern1993
Don Young2006Milton Wong1993
Stuart Culbertson2005Dr John Wormsbecker1993
Chris Kelly2005Dr Harold Copp1992
Dr Ron Marteniuk2005Don Graham1992
Anne Sutherland2005John Pitts1992
Eric Kong2004Dr Erich Vogt1991
Victoria Withers2004Hon. David C Lam1988
Dr Lorne Whitehead2003Dr Gerhard Herzberg1987
Dr Alan Pelman2001Dr John Polanyi1987
Drinda Scott2000Hon Robert G. Rogers1987